I Will Climb This Mountain With My Hands Wide Open

I lean not on my own understanding, my life is in the hands of the maker of heaven

I give it all to You God, trusting that You’ll make something beautiful out of me

I will climb this mountain with my hands wide open

Tonight during worship as I sang these words I was overtaken with the idea of how much I need God, need Jesus. I want to walk through an illustration with you: Imagine that you are climbing a mountain. Maybe it is covered in snow with its citadel in the clouds, or maybe it is small, half a days worth of hiking in decent weather. Regardless of the size or length of your climb, what are you bringing with you? Did you bring a harness and rope because you will have to climb up a steep cliff? Maybe you’re rocking your Nike’s because it is the closest thing to high-traction shoes that you have. There are so many things that we need when going on a hike or week long adventure in the mountains, water, food, clothes, tent, map, etc.

I don’t know about you but none of my hiking or climbing experiences have ever been easy or without faults. Countless times have I fallen while trying to climb or gotten lost because I had no map to guide me. Right now we all have mountains in our lives. Whether it is pressing forward during hard circumstances, dealing with a broken or torn family, loneliness, depression, bad grades, binge drinking, selfishness, tough times, or even focusing on things of this world too much, we all have mountains we are constantly climbing. So at this point you’re with me and you have heard this analogy before most likely. Yes, so much potential for us to grow in Christ lies in our path when climbing a mountain but I want to discuss the “how” and not the “why.” While there is a time and a place to ask yourself why you are climbing such a mountain, we should always be asking ourselves “how am I climbing this mountain?” We won’t always have the answers, things don’t always make sense, and that should comfort you. We need not “lean on our own understanding” because for certain my [your] “life is in the hands of the maker of heaven.”

We are not done. That is just the stuff we need to move out of the way to get to the all important question of “how?” What if the key to climbing the mountain is to climb it with our hands open to the heavens. Forget the water, forget the harness and rope, and forget the food. Move past the why and look at the “how.” What if we constantly trusted God during every step in our climb, in fact, so much so that He is basically doing it for us. Rough concept, too much loss of control for most of us. Why do we even think we can make it up and over a situation if we just bring in the right supplies, the right amount of volunteer hours, the perfect spiritual self help book. We need to let God climb the mountain we cannot, and unless you are God, you will need Him for every one. I couldn’t help but imagine how many times I have slipped and fallen while hiking or climbing, thinking I knew what I was doing, and how inadequate my efforts were at times. Have you asked God to climb your mountains for you, to live the life you cannot? Only when we truly give control of everything in our situation to God, with our hands held to the heavens, faithfully praying and expecting, will He be able to get us up and over the mountain, and not by any worldly means. It was never about God neglecting to help you get over the mountain, you just stopped asking Him to do it for you.

All for Him

This entry was posted in 2011 Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

